The Wondrous Acai Bowl

1013918_496204233794324_1526160774_n

Acai bowl from Haleiwa Bowls

Ahh, the acai bowl. The most glorious healthy treat ever dreamed up. I had my first acai bowl experience in Hawaii this summer and have been longing for one ever since. Acai bowls typically consist of an acai puree topped with bananas and other fruit, granola, coconut, honey, and various other superfoods of your choosing (e.g., chia seeds, bee pollen, spirulina). Acai bowls are so much more than the sum of their parts, though, and listing the ingredients does not adequately convey the joy they bring to one’s mouth, not to mention the health benefits associated with eating a snack composed of antioxidant-rich fruits.  Since I’ve been battling a cold this week, I decided to concoct my own acai bowl. Unfortunately, I couldn’t find acai puree in my grocery store and didn’t feel like making another stop at the overpriced organic grocery store (where I lose hours ogling all the specialty foods), so instead I bought an acai-blueberry frozen fruit bar and layered on the bananas, coconut, chia, and honey. It wasn’t an exact substitute for the original, but it was still pretty tasty and did the trick in perking me up. Next time you have a craving for a sweet and/or healthy treat, try an acai bowl!

Here is a Huffington Post tutorial on making acai bowls: The Art of the Acai Bowl

Leave a Reply

