Snow Day Hunger-Buster Soup

We had a rare snow day in the South this week, so I took the opportunity to make a hearty sirloin vegetable soup.  There’s nothing like simple, filling comfort food on a cold day. As pretty as a little snow can be, I’m glad the Polar Vortex is moving on out. I just hope it takes Justin Bieber with it… Anyway, all that business about insatiable hunger was definitely taken care of by a bowl of this soup and a yummy, gooey, grilled cheese sandwich.

I started by marinating some sirloin beef tips in worcestershire sauce, garlic, and spices (can’t remember exactly which ones I used) and chopping up lots of veggies. I used zucchini, carrots, mushrooms, celery, grape tomatoes, onions, green bell pepper, and potatoes. Supposedly potatoes are good for curbing hunger pangs.

Image

Then, everything went into a slow cooker with vegetable broth and bay leaves. Adding some tomato juice probably would have been good, too, but I had none. I seasoned very lightly with salt, as I try to keep a low-sodium diet and have a penchant for salty, crunchy snacks and would rather have my salt there than in food with plenty of other flavors.

IMG_0309

A couple hours later, and it was ready to enjoy. As for the grilled cheese, I went with a classic version, but some of these updates are begging to be tested…

Leave a Reply

