Kitchen Adventures

I tried out a new recipe this weekend that made me so happy from start to finish that I had to share. Turns out it would be really good for a quick and easy weeknight meal. I had been drooling over Iowa Girl Eats’ Grilled Thai Beef Salad and decided to make a version of it. However, I was in the mood for fish after seeing some beautifully hot pink tuna steaks at the market, so I adapted her recipe slightly. I briefly marinated a tuna steak in sesame oil, rice vinegar, soy sauce, ginger, and garlic (I don’t measure things, so follow her recipe if you like exact quantities). The smell of sesame oil and garlic had me very excited for the flavors to ensue. I would probably eat just about anything that involved sesame oil and garlic. While that was marinating, I toasted some sliced almonds on the stovetop. Again, yummy smells making me very excited. After searing the tuna steak for about 1 minute on each side over medium-high heat, I piled that and the sliced almonds, along with a few grape tomatoes, on a bed of kale. I lightly drizzled the salad with more sesame oil, rice vinegar, and freshly squeezed lemon juice. The contrasting texture of the crisp kale and crunchy almonds with the melt-in-your-mouth, warm tuna was lovely.(How’s that for mindful eating?!) And there you have my Seared Tuna and Kale Salad.

IMG_0317

Leave a Reply

