Farmers’ Market Brunch

I’m baaack. And I brought brunch! We’ve had an exceptionally nice Spring, which has motivated me to take my fitness outside (who can stand to spin in a dark, sweaty room when there’s fresh air and sunshine in which to play?!) and has inspired me to cook with fresh ingredients. I love spending Saturday mornings at the farmers’ market, scooping up fresh produce and other goodies. With this weekend’s haul, I made a tasty Sunday brunch: roasted beet and goat cheese salad, sweet potato and kale hash with an egg over-easy, and fresh-baked rosemary bread (to dip in golden, runny egg yolks). Fresh strawberries provided the perfectly sweet complement to the savory fare. If you want to get a little fancy, try your strawberries with a balsamic reduction to really enhance their flavor (I happened to have used up all my balsamic vinegar last weekend on eggplant and tomato stacks– another fresh veggie treat).

 

Image

 

 

This just may have been one of my favorite brunches. Almost as good as the crab cakes Benedict and Bloody Mary made with bacon-infused vodka at Mad Donna’s in Nashville. Build-your-own Bloody Mary bar? Yes, please! I might need to work on that for my next brunch…

Leave a Reply

